Death to an Old Self

13

On the Death tarot card, a skeleton rides in on a white horse, symbolizing purity. He wears armor showing his new found strength. His skeleton, is his old self, and he is riding into town as the new him.

The Hero’s Journey, is a tale we all know very well. Started by a call to action, the hero leaves the familiar to travel into the unknown. With lessons learned and mentors to help, there is a transformation. Every hero comes to a low point, a point when they don’t believe that they will make it and become very unsure of themselves. That point is generally followed by a new perspective and birth to a new hero, ready to rescue the princess.

I am the heroine in my own story. I have left the comfort of the small town and the only home I have ever known to venture off into the world to find myself, my inner “princess”. I have experienced beauty in every spot I have been, but I have also experienced hardships.

Those hardships, those are me. I felt them in the comfort of my small town back home, and I will feel those everywhere I go. This is that transformation point. I have made it to the cross road of leaving my old self behind. The death to an old self, and the birth of a new me.

I left home as just some 19 year old girl. Victoria Voigt from the Bay area who smoked a lot of weed, hung out with lots of friends, went to a lot of parties, and wanted to feel involved in the next biggest thing in the bay area. I worked my ass off, and then hung out with my friends after work, partied, went to bed and woke up to repeat it all. I didn’t spend as much time with family or invest time into hobbies and learning new things. I wasn’t sure of what I wanted out of life.

That Victoria is dead, and just like the Phoenix, I am born again. I have no time in this precious life for drama, or meaningless interactions with people. No money in the world is worth my happiness, and every dollar I make is going to go towards new travels and experiences, rather than blunts and bottles of alcohol. I will spend time with the friends that mean a lot to me, and family. I no longer care what others think of me. People can laugh at me for wearing no shoes, having no make up on, and wearing miss matched patterned clothes, but they will never take my happiness from me.

I have learned to be the author of my own book, not the character in someone else’s. This is my story, my journey, and I am the Heroine who saved herself.

5 comments

  1. JJ · September 24, 2015

    I welcome you to my world with open arms. When I hear you speak about your journey, I can relate. Leaving home and leaving the old self behind only to grow and change into your new self in order to have the life you know fits. When you come home and have some time to acclamate, please let’s get together. You my dear are special to me. Hugs

    Like

  2. Lora · September 24, 2015

    I am in awe of you and what you have learned about yourself and the world around you! I encourage and support you to continue your adventures and exploration. Love you, Lora

    Like

  3. Rebecca Sprenger · September 24, 2015

    Beautiful and powerful. Love.

    Like

  4. Barbara Jones · September 25, 2015

    I am in awe. I love you and respect you.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Anne Minckley Early · September 27, 2015

    Aaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh! That is so cool, Victoria! Thank you! Love, Anne

    Like

Leave a Reply

