Shine On

Everyday of the past 2 weeks has reminded me how many reasons there are to love life.

The South Dakota sunsets never get old

The South Dakota sunsets never get old

We went to Michigan, where we made a stop at my brothers house. I also have a niece and nephew and I haven’t see their whole family in 7 years. He welcomed the bus crew into his home and we enjoyed the rainy days with what felt like my long lost family. I used to spend summers in Michigan as a kid and there is a beauty there that cant be found in any other state. Green grass, lakes the size of oceans, and a diverse population of people. I said goodbye to my brother, hoping that I get out there sooner than last time.

I love you Bro!!

I love you Bro!!

We drove for two days straight, in a hurry to get to one of our favorite places, South Dakota. We couldn’t wait to connect with our beloved friends at the hop farm, and to also help them finish their harvest. We got there just in time, and helped them finish up the hard work. We would start early in the morning, working until late into the night. The last night when we finished the harvest, they decided that they wanted to brew their favorite hop plant. Without any doubts, we began making a huge fire, and boiling a giant 60 gallon pot of water. We took turns crushing the barley by hand with a broken 2×4, and picking hops off the plant and throughing it into the pot. On the farm, which is far from any civilization, you can see what seems like every star in the universe. At about 3 a.m. we looked up to see the Northern Lights dancing in the night sky.

IMG_20150908_123220789

How did my life lead me to a moment as great as this?

Why am I so blessed to share these moments with other loving souls?

That night left an imprint in my heart.

Stirring the pot of beer as it brews over the fire

Stirring the pot of beer as it brews over the fire

Let me go more into depth about how truly amazing these people are. They live on a farm, have a garden to eat food from, and they all work together on the hop farm towards their dream of opening a brewery. They want to put all of their profits right back into making their farm more and more self sustaining. If everything in the world came to a halt, they would be able to keep on keepin’ on.

Weston and Jeff preparing fresh veggies from the garden for soup

Weston and Jeff preparing fresh veggies from the garden for soup

Our new friend Gradey

Our new friend Gradey

Most people think that they are crazy for chosing South Dakota as their starting point. Why not California? Or Oregon? Where people are generally more open minded to the idea of a self sustaining organic brewery. Well that’s the thing, these people want to change the world. And by starting in an environment where people have never seen anything like this in their lives, they have a possibility to change their entire perspectives. They want to hold huge events where people from all over join them at their brewery for the release of their new beers. By getting involved and inviting people onto their farm, and where their beer comes from they can show people how to live self sustaining. They say it’s not “going green” which is sorta becoming trendy, they are going back to the stone age. Unlike most commune type places, where people start a community hidden from the world, they want to bring this new idea of life into the light.

These people want to change the world.

What is cooler than that?

IMG_20150917_111437606

Until next time South Dakota! Peace and Love

Something that Weston said to me that will stick with me forever is, “We don’t want to hide our light. We were given our light to shine on others.”

6 comments

  1. Lora · September 21, 2015

    Dear Victoria,
    I love to read your beautiful insights into the life we live and the beautiful world we live in. It took me many more years to understand what you are learning now. And seeing the northern lights! What a treat! I haven’t seen them for many years.
    Love you,
    Lora

    Like

    • victoriaearly · September 21, 2015

      I love you Lora! If it wasn’t for the inspiration people like you in my life, I wouldn’t be this person

      Like

  2. Judith Renwoth · September 21, 2015

    My husband Britt, and I sat here this morning reminiscing about our time in the late 60’s early 70’s and both of us feel happy knowing there are still young people out there carrying on some of the traditions of what we began. There is hope in this. Thank you all. Britt and JJ

    Like

  3. Anne Minckley Early · September 21, 2015

    That’s a beautiful share! Thank you, Victoria —blessings, 😘😌 Anne

    Like

  4. Barbara Jones · September 21, 2015

    Thank you for your inspiring heart. I love you. Mom

    Like

  5. Salty-Sailor · September 22, 2015

    Victoria, I’m so happy and glad for you. This trip will forever be in your heart and mind. Most of all it will give you a different prospective on life and our country! PS – Miss you, can’t wait to see you face to face and hear of your life experiences! xo Manny

    Like

Leave a Reply

